Comments on Cornell's Ocean Atlas

Back to Book Description

2nd edition

Weathergram Blog – 4 March 2018

I particularly liked the detail that has gone into the pilot charts, and the text on various matters such as weather and currents… and an interesting chapter about the various names for the winds around the world. The passage maps make this a valuable primary resource for all cruising sailors.
Bob McDavitt
Read more here

German Blauwasser.de – 6 February 2018

Review of Cornell's Ocean Atlas in Blauwasser.de“Weltumsegler Jimmy Cornell hat eine Neuauflage des „Atlas der Ozeane“ herausgebracht. Eine Alternative zu den klassischen Monatskarten (Pilot Charts)…”
Lesen Sie mehr: Alternative zu den klassischen Monatskarten (Pilot Charts): Jimmy Cornells „Atlas der Ozeane“

German Yacht Online – 23 January 2018

Review of Cornell's Ocean Atlas in Yacht“Der Langfahrtsegler und ARC-Begründer hat seinen “Atlas der Ozeane” komplett überarbeitet. In die Wind- und Strömungskarten flossen allerneueste Meteodaten ein.”
Lesen Sie mehr: Neue Pilot Charts von Jimmy Cornell

1st edition


Review of Cornell's Ocean Atlas in Practical Boat OwnerPractical Boat Owner
“This is a seriously impressive book. …It’s comprehensive, clear and informative. Oh, and for those with wanderlust, beware – it may lead you to dream!”
 Practical Boat Owner magazine – March 2012 issue
Read the complete review here (PDF)


Review of Cornell's Ocean Atlas in Sailing TodaySailing Today
“This publication should really be considered an essential item of yacht gear rather than a book. … the data behind this book is all under 20 years old. This is an important factor as climate change means that the days are gone when publishers can get away with basing predictions on 50 year old climatic trends.”
 Sailing Today magazine – March 2012 issue
Read the complete review here (PDF)


Review of Cornell's Ocean Atlas in Sailing for Southern AfricaSailing for Southern Africa
“Another essential arrow in the armoury for cruisers.”

Sailing for Southern Africa – March 2012 issue
Read the complete review here (PDF)


Review of Cornell's Ocean Atlas in Cruising WorldCruising World
“Seasoned voyagers know that pilot charts are one of the most valuable tools for passage-making. By employing the latest technology and weather information compiled via satellite over the last two decades and by quadrupling the number of roses roses on their clearly illustrated collection of transoceanic charts, the Cornells have not only updated a valuable resource but also substantially broadened it.”
 Cruising World magazine – February 2012 issue
Read the complete review here (PDF)


Review of Cornell's Ocean Atlas in Southwinds magazineSouthwinds magazine
“This book will also be an excellent reference for a much broader group, from oceanographers and meteorological students, to commercial shipping. It is a notable accomplishment, but for cruisers and those with dreams of cruising, it is an essential resource.”
 SOUTHWINDS magazine – February 2012 issue
Read the complete review here (PDF)


Review of Cornell's Ocean Atlas on Multihulls-World.comMultihulls-World.com
The Good Book. Cornell’s Ocean Atlas is a travel document which, in just a few months, has earned a special place in the on-board library![…]. There is no obscure theoretical padding in this nautical bible! In a time of climate change, the clever, educational illustrations by these two nautical sherpas open the doors to the high seas, give access to a mine of information which was not available before them and make the maritime universe understandable. Don’t leave without it!”
Read the complete review on Multihulls-World.com

Review of Cornell's Ocean Atlas on Sail-World.comSail-World.com
“Cornell’s latest production […] certainly eclipses all his other productions with its ‘wow factor’. I am sure it will become, like his ‘World Cruising Routes’, a publication no long-range sailor wants to leave home without.”
Read the complete review on Sail-World.com

Review of Cornell's Ocean Atlas on Noonsite.comNoonsite.com
“This amazingly impressive atlas …. definitely fills a gap in the nautical book market.”
Read the complete review on noonsite.com

Review of Cornell's Ocean Atlas on WomenAndCruising.comWomenAndCruising.com
“It’s all too easy to follow the crowd on the well-worn rut around the world without doing your own diligent voyage planning and still expect to experience reasonable conditions doing so. But the moment you think about bearing off left or right — treading the path less taken, as it were — when everyone else is going straight, having the knowledge to keep yourself in safe and comfortable sailing conditions becomes crucial.
An exceptional new tool has appeared on the scene to help every cruiser work out for him/herself the possibilities open to them to be adventurous while staying safe, and that new tool comes from one of the most respected names in cruising — Cornell. World-renowned sailor and cruising author Jimmy Cornell and his son Ivan Cornell have teamed up to pair modern weather technology with the most classic of voyage planning tools– pilot charts. The result is Cornell’s Ocean Atlas: Pilot Charts for All Oceans of the World.
Read the complete review by Gwen Hamlin on WomenAndCruising.com

Lee Chesneau, marine weather expert
“This incredible atlas is the best climatological set of information that mariners operating at all levels from professional merchant master mariners to the casual cruisers MUST have alongside Bowditch. Well laid out by the consummate professional that Jimmy Cornell is. Bravo Zulu!”

John & Ellie Wheeler
“We had not been using pilot charts since they hadn’t agreed with our experiences over 5 years in the South Pacific. We had used all the buzz words, blaming the differences on “an unusual year”, “global warming”, etc. Areas are hotter/colder, storms more violent, etc. Your atlas coincides better with our experiences and many of our fellow cruisers.”

Freedom (published on amazon.com)
“AT LAST THE REAL THING – It’s sometime amazing to meet cruising sailors all over the world striving to get the latest (often) useless piece of electronics and then planning an offshore passage using information that is obsolete or insufficient to say the least. The Cornell’s newly published Pilot Charts are the answer to the cruiser’s quest for up-to-date reliable statistical meteorological information. Pilot Charts in use till yesterday were based on 19th century observations and although some updating was done they have demonstrated to be highly inacurate. We have to thank Jimmy and his son Ivan (a great sailor and a computer wizard) for conceiving, planning and accomplishing such a colossal (twenty years of satellite data elaborated and put in a smart graphic form) and at the same time beautiful work.”

Judy A. Rouse (published on amazon.com)
“THE BEST YET FROM JIMMY CORNELL – I am currently circumnavigating on Yacht BeBe with my husband, Bill. We are more than 70% complete on our west-around route which began in the Caribbean. We recently received our copy of the Jimmy Cornell’s Ocean Atlas. I have compared the Atlas to all previous information I could find including Jimmy’s previous books. The new Atlas is different because weather patterns have changed and Jimmy has this new Atlas up-to-date. It is better because it’s charts are larger…at least twice the size (11.7″X16.5″ (A3)). This allows for quadruple the number of roses on each chart. More and new information is better!”

John Martin, Director of Island Cruising Association, New Zealand
“Cornell’s Ocean Atlas, the latest in a long line of cruising resources from this world renown author is the most up to date information available for passage planning. Cornell’s Ocean Atlas, along with a paper copy passage chart is all you need for planning a passage anywhere in the world. I know, I’m using it to plan our 2014 Micronesia Rally.”

Brenda Kelliker
“This atlas is amazing. It is a game change for anyone planning a long voyage.”

Magnus Holm
“Suddenly all my concerns on planning a voyage from 69ºN to 69ºS have been magically taken away as choosing the safe seasons and favourable conditions now looks so easy.”

Jon Fawcett
“This atlas is a really clever take on Captain Maury’s original idea and I am sure that this is how he would have set about creating his pilot charts if he had invented them today.”

Manfred Winter
“Congratulations for the excellent and outstanding Ocean Atlas. It is something that for a long time we blue water sailors have been waiting for!”

Csaba Horváth
“This atlas is as comprehensive and detailed on information for sailors planning an ocean voyage as all of Jimmy Cornell’s other books.”

Donna Lange
“The beauty of any ocean sailing reference work from Jimmy Cornell is the vast research and real data used to produce a reliable and extensive resource.”

Back to Book Description

BACK to TOP